If I may quote …

If I may quote Billy Elliot…

“Tutor 1: What does it feel like when you’re dancing?”
“Billy: Don’t know. Sorta feels good. Sorta stiff and that, but once I get going… then I like, forget everything. And… sorta disappear. Sorta disappear. Like I feel a change in my whole body. And I’ve got this fire in my body. I’m just there. Flyin’ like a bird. Like electricity. Yeah, like electricity.”

(Written by Lee Hall. Quote taken from IMDb)

These words encapsulate exactly how I feel when I write.  To begin with I’m ‘sorta stiff’.  It takes me time to get into the rhythm of the words and the patter of character life, but when I do, it’s like running free.  Its my time to be 100% me, no holds, no pleasing, no ego.  Just words.

This is the reason I started my journey on a Creative Writing Course.  For too long I prioritised the wrong things, things that didn’t make me smile.  Studying changed that, it makes me write.

I feel lucky to have found something which makes me feel this way.  Everyone should get a chance to find the thing that makes their heart sing and their jigsaw complete.

I wonder, have you found your electricity?

Thanks for dropping by.

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

