Love Patchwork & Quilting

You may or may not have read my about me page.  If you have you will know that ‘quilting’ is not on my learning curve list.  However that is all about to change.  Love Patchwork & Quilting Magazine has created an itch which is not going to disappear anytime soon…

Now quilting is something which has never really appealed to me.  My Auntie creates beautiful patchwork and quilted items which make me drool in envy and awe at the meticulous perfection.

This is a project bag she made for me.  Where I go, my adorable little bag doth go too!

Image

Image

Image

I was looking for a magazine to take away with me on our seaside break.  None of the crochet magazines on the stand appealed to my tastes (I already had Simply Crochet stashed away at home) and so I decided to go with the eye-catching front cover of Love Patchwork & Quilting.

Image

Saturday afternoon I managed to grab an hour of me time, so while the rain hammered down and the wind whipped up a storm around us  I took up my magazine and sat snug and warm in our little caravan, with tea in hand and a blanket on my legs.

As someone with a hell of a lot to learn in the sewing department I have often felt intimidated and overwhelmed by quilting.  To me, it always looks intricate, confusing and complex – I have to confess that these are not words which sit well in the mind of a perfectionist (I can only imagine how many times the seam ripper will be out on this little adventure!)

Saying that, Love Patchwork got me interested.  It didn’t scare or frighten me.

It made me want to be bold with neon brights

Image

I didn’t shudder at the complexity of quilted cushions.  Instead I sat and pondered what colours and patterns I would incorporate into my rail fence cushion.

Image

It lead me to blogs which inspired, impressed and encouraged me to try something new (additions to my ‘inspiring blogs’ list coming very soon!)

Image

Towards the back of the magazine there is a section called ‘the guide’ this takes you through the basics and gives you everything you need to get started.  It is full of informative yet digestible snippets of information which don’t overwhelm or scare but instead coax and nurture us newcomers into giving this quilting game a dam good try.

Image

From front to back Love Patchwork & Quilting is an unexpected pleasure – Packed with ideas, inspirations, must-have-a-go projects, techniques and how-to’s which I immediately fell in love with.  Even Stan had a quick read…

Image

When I say this magazine created an itch I was not kidding.  As soon as I arrived back home I did this

Image

And the money I saved with the fab offer went towards the beginners quilting course I booked myself on.

They say a picture speaks a 1,000 words so I’m going to end todays post with this…

Image

Sarah x

9 thoughts on “Love Patchwork & Quilting

  1. Love your project bag it is adorable, I also had a huge jealousy moment seeing your dog I have always wanted a dachshund. 🙂 Also if you are interested I am doing a giveaway on my blog of some Christmas felt decorations I have made to get us all in the mood for the festive season 🙂

  2. Thank you Looby 🙂 Ahhh Stan, everyone loves Stan. Should you ever look at getting at dog I would seriously recommend Daschunds, never before have a had a dog who is so loving and comical 🙂 He is such a cutie. I will make sure I post plenty more pics of him on my posts 🙂

    Ooo I’ll have a look at the competition, I really do need to take some time out to catch up with everyone, since we got back from the time away things have been a little crazy.

  3. Pingback: A catch up | Afternoon Tea with May

Leave a Reply

